Lost your password? Register


About Us

We are energy experts and procurement professionals

We are a Contracting Authority owned by our members and deliver a wide range of services in energy procurement, data reporting, risk management and cost reduction on a not-for-profit basis.

We understand the complex requirements of our members and guide them into making informed decisions on their energy options taking into account their needs in managing energy consumption and carbon across their estate assets.

We primarily work in the Education sector working with Universities, Colleges and Museum Groups, but also support the wider public sector.

We are not a TPI (Third Party Intermediary) or broker but a recognised ‘Other Contracting Body’ which means that other contracting bodies can utilise and access any of our frameworks, and remain fully compliant with EU and UK Procurement Regulations.

Our members have voting rights on both our governance and policy and can fully trust in the transparency of our organisational management. All policy decisions are taken with benefit to the membership as a key priority.

Our History

Owned by our members, The Energy Consortium (TEC) is proud of our not-for-profit status as a public buying organisation. We have been through a substantial evolution, from our foundation in 1994 as an offshoot of AUDE (Association University Directors of Estates) with just six institutions to our still growing membership of 135.

Coming from humble beginnings twenty-five years ago, we continue to expand; developing our resources, in-sourcing core services and developing frameworks to meet the significant challenges occurring across the energy, education and public sectors.

Vision and Values

Our vision is to see the UK Education Sector at the forefront of global energy challenges, leading collaboration and harnessing expertise to achieve a secure and sustainable energy future.

WE ARE OPEN IN ALL OUR PRACTICES AND OUR PERFORMANCE
WE ARE DEDICATED TO PROVIDING THE BEST SERVICE FOR OUR MEMBERS
WE ARE GENEROUS WITH OUR TIME, EXPERTISE AND KNOWLEDGE
WE ARE COLLABORATIVE AND WORK WITH OUR MEMBERS TO EFFECT CHANGE

Meet Our Team

TEC Board

Array ( [0] => 60 )
Jo Butlin

Jo Butlin

Chair
Array ( [0] => 60 )
John Brenton

John Brenton

Sustainability Manager University of Bristol
Array ( [0] => 60 )
Andy Seaman

Andy Seaman

Energy Manager - The University of Exeter
Array ( [0] => 60 )
Tom Yearley

Tom Yearley

Head of Sustainability Delivery University of Wales Trinity St David
Array ( [0] => 60 )
James Trotter

James Trotter

Director of Procurement University of Leicester

Array ( [0] => 60 )
Caroline Heckscher

Caroline Heckscher

Procurement Director at University of London
Array ( [0] => 62 ) Array ( [0] => 62 ) Array ( [0] => 62 ) Array ( [0] => 62 ) Array ( [0] => 62 ) Array ( [0] => 62 ) Array ( [0] => 62 ) Array ( [0] => 62 ) Array ( [0] => 62 ) Array ( [0] => 62 ) Array ( [0] => 62 ) Array ( [0] => 62 ) Array ( [0] => 62 )

TEC Team

Array ( [0] => 60 ) Array ( [0] => 60 ) Array ( [0] => 60 ) Array ( [0] => 60 ) Array ( [0] => 60 ) Array ( [0] => 60 ) Array ( [0] => 62 )
Richard Murphy

Richard Murphy

Managing Director

0121 483 1963
richard.murphy@tec.ac.uk

Array ( [0] => 62 )
Stephen Creighton

Stephen Creighton

Head of Member Services

07415 950629
stephen.creighton@tec.ac.uk

Array ( [0] => 62 )
Paula Ponting

Paula Ponting

Member Services Advisor

07920 831541
paula.ponting@tec.ac.uk

Array ( [0] => 62 )
Kerry Sheppard

Kerry Sheppard

Member Services Advisor

07415 950790
kerry.sheppard@tec.ac.uk

Array ( [0] => 62 )
Ian Swaine

Ian Swaine

Member Services Advisor

07770 542917
ian.swaine@tec.ac.uk

Array ( [0] => 62 )
Paul Cook

Paul Cook

Energy Trader

0121 483 1963
paul.cook@tec.ac.uk

Array ( [0] => 62 )
Gemma Black

Gemma Black

Data & Bureau Services Manager

0121 483 1963
gemma.black@tec.ac.uk

Array ( [0] => 62 )
Jennifer Kerby

Jennifer Kerby

Data Support Administrator

0121 483 1963
jennifer.kerby@tec.ac.uk

Array ( [0] => 62 )
Davinder Sahota

Davinder Sahota

Data Support Administrator

0121 483 1963
davinder.sahota@tec.ac.uk

Array ( [0] => 62 )
Angela Dance

Angela Dance

Finance and Commissions Officer

0121 483 1963
angela.dance@tec.ac.uk

Array ( [0] => 62 )
Sarah Buchan

Sarah Buchan

Head of Communications and Marketing

0121 483 1963
sarah.buchan@tec.ac.uk

Array ( [0] => 62 )
Kate Mottram

Kate Mottram

Marketing Events Co-ordinator

0121 483 1963
kate.mottram@tec.ac.uk

Array ( [0] => 62 )
Philip Pike CENG MCIBSE

Philip Pike CENG MCIBSE

Head of Carbon Advisory Services

07583 040 073
carbon@tec.ac.uk

Our strategic partners:

Skip to toolbar